plans, changed

I ran out of Head & Shoulders a few days ago. I have a few other types of shampoo that I use, but I’m a flaky guy. I need my pyrithione zinc.

So my plan was to pop over to Target after I got home from work to get some, and then come home and snuggle with my dog. This plan also appealed to me because work was busy and I knew I’d be buzzing on a high frequency after I got out. A relaxing evening sounded nice.

When I exited the subway in Brooklyn, I heard cheers from a crowd of people. There was a small white furball who desperately needed to use the bathroom so I marched home, hearing rumblings from passersby that it was a rally of some of Brooklyn’s bodgea owners, many of whom are Muslim immigrants and have to face a terrifying new political landscape.

Terror.

And so my plans changed. I could still head to Target after, but this was something I felt strongly about. So after taking Flora on a quick jaunt outside, I headed over to the rally and ran into Annie Sidou. She had plucked a piece of cardboard from somewhere or other, and was writing *Power to the People* on it with a gigantic permanent marker she keeps on her person. Because, of course she does. These are the times in which we live. We listened to Linda Sarsour speak and cheered and supported our neighbors.

And then we went to the diner, where we discussed politics, religion, creativity, media consumption, engagement, intelligence, life, motivations, desires, and on and on. Pepsi and milkshakes and french fries.

After dinner another friend, who I haven’t caught up with in a while, texted me a picture of an American Eagle wearing a sombrero. “Thought of you. Here’s to staying hopeful 🇺🇸”

This stuff exhausts me. The political climate is exhausting. Having to go to spontaneous protests is exhausting. Worrying about your community and hoping they’re okay is exhausting. Worrying about your own situation and whether or not your own family is okay is exhausting. I am so tired all the time.

However, tonight, I am emotionally fulfilled and hopeful.

And now I’m home, writing this while snuggled up with my pup. Because that was always part of the plan. 🐶

Happy.
But with an itchy head.

Leave a Reply

